Skip to main content
Office of the Provost, Division of Academic Affairs, University of Maryland


Search for a New Dean for the College of Behavioral and Social Sciences

Dear Colleagues, 

I am pleased to announce that I have appointed a search committee and launched an aggressive national search to find an outstanding individual to fill the position of Dean of the College of Behavioral and Social Sciences. Craig Beyrouty, Dean of the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources, will chair the committee, which will be assisted by the international executive search firm Witt Kieffer. The complete list of committee members is given below. 

We need a concerted effort that engages the entire community, working with members of the search committee, to identify a dean who can build on the strengths and momentum of the College. 

The dean must be committed to providing strong and visionary leadership for the College; supporting an environment of diversity and inclusive excellence in teaching and learning; promoting a culture of impactful research, scholarship, and creative activities; encouraging interdisciplinary collaboration and partnerships; fostering mission-driven engagement among the College’s students, faculty, staff, alumni, and potential funders; and managing resources to effectively advance the mission of the College. We seek excellent and diverse candidates who can leverage our considerable academic strengths as a major research university, the unique advantages offered by our location, and our overriding commitment to inclusive excellence in all that we do. The new dean should be prepared to serve on the University’s academic leadership team, support the advancement of our university’s new strategic plan, and engage with diverse stakeholder groups to build support for behavioral and social sciences.

You can assist in the search process by using your personal contacts and networks to identify outstanding candidates for this position and to make the opportunity widely known. Please forward to any committee member the names of individuals you believe would be excellent candidates. We appreciate your assistance and support in this important effort. 

The position description and further details regarding the appointment of a dean will follow. 

Search Committee for the Dean of the College of Behavioral and Social Sciences

Craig Beyrouty CHAIR, Dean of College of Agriculture and Natural Resources Johanna Birnir Professor, Director GVPT Global
William Braniff  Director START/ Professor of Practice
Andrea Chisolm   Assistant Clinical Professor, PSYC, Director MPS
Maureen Cropper Distinguished University Professor, ECON
Long Doan Assistant Professor, SOCY
Yi Ting Huang Associate Professor, HESP
Judith Hellerstein Professor and Chair, ECON
Najib El-Sayed Professor, CBMG/UMIACS, Director, Brain and Behavior Institute
Steve Fetter Dean of The Graduate School, Provost’s Representative
George Hambrecht Associate Professor, ANTH
George Hurtt Professor and Associate Chair, GEOG
Partha Lahiri Professor and Director, JPSM
Joanne Leffson-Bryant Director Finance & Administration, PSYC
Katherine Pedro Beardsley Board of Visitors
Autumn Perkey Ph.D. student, GVPT
Esther Odeyemi Undergrad student, CRIM/PSYC
Rashawn Ray Professor, SOCY, Exec Director Applied Social Science Research
Joseph Richardson Professor, AAS, MPower
Katherine Russell Associate Dean, Undergrad Education, BSOS
Maria Velez Associate Professor, CRIM
Colleen Worthington Director, Clinical Professor, HESP

Search Firm Contact: Jen Pickard from Witt Kieffer 
Applications, nominations, and inquiries can be submitted at: