Senior Staff

The Provost's Senior Staff take direct responsibility for guiding the academic development and direction of the institution in accordance with the University's mission. Senior Staff work to develop, review, and implement all academic policies and regulations, as well as implementing the University's strategic plan. Senior staff are also involved with finance and personnel, and they oversee various other projects and initiatives developed through the Provost's office.

Betsy Beise

Elizabeth Beise

Associate Provost for Academic Planning & Programs

beise@umd.edu | 301.405.6836

Betsy Beise is a Professor of Physics and the Associate Provost for Academic Planning and Programs. Her responsibilities include oversight of the development and implementation of new academic programs, reviews of academic units, centers and institutes, and review and administration of academic agreements, both domestic and international. Dr. Beise also broadly manages the University’s academic programs located at the Universities at Shady Grove. Dr. Beise researches the use of electromagnetic and weak probes of the internal structure of protons, neutrons and light nuclei, and on the use of nuclear physics techniques to test fundamental symmetries of nature.

Ben Bederson

Benjamin B. Bederson

Associate Provost of Learning Initiatives

bederson@umd.edu | 301.405.3394

Betsy Beise

Elizabeth Beise

Associate Provost for Academic Planning & Programs

beise@umd.edu | 301.405.6836

John Bertot

John Bertot

Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs

jbertot@umd.edu | 301.405.6803

Dean Chang

Dean Chang

Associate Vice President for Innovation & Entrepreneurship

deanc@umd.edu | 301.314.8121

William Cohen

William A. Cohen

Associate Provost and Dean for Undergraduate Studies

wcohen@umd.edu | 301.405.9354

David Cronrath

David Cronrath

Special Assistant to the Provost

cronrath@umd.edu | 301.405.2260

Stewart Edelstein

Stewart Edelstein

Executive Director of the Universities at Shady Grove

sedels@umd.edu | 301.738.6034

Cynthia Edmunds

Cynthia Edmunds

Chief Diversity Officer (interim)

cedmunds@umd.edu | 301.405.0805

Steve Fetter

Steve Fetter

Associate Provost for Academic Affairs

sfetter@umd.edu | 301.405.5793

Jeffrey Franke

Jeffrey Franke

Interim Dean, The Graduate School

jfranke@umd.edu | 301.405.4205

Thomas Fuerst

Thomas Fuerst

Executive Director of the Institute for Bioscience and Biotechnology Research

tfuerst@umd.edu | 240.314.6507

Barbara Gill

Barbara Gill

Associate Vice President for Enrollment Management

bgill@umd.edu | 301.314.8350

Cindi Hale

Cynthia R. Hale

Associate Vice President for Finance and Personnel

chale@umd.edu | 301.405.6818

Sharon A. La Voy

Sharon A. La Voy

Assistant Vice President for Institutional Research, Planning and Assessment

slavoy@umd.edu | 301.405.3828

Ross Lewin

Ross Lewin

Associate Vice President for International Affairs

rdlewin@umd.edu | 301.405.4769

Bev Rodgerson

Beverly Rodgerson

Executive Assistant to the Provost

brodgers@umd.edu | 301.405.6814

Chuck Wilson

Chuck Wilson

Associate Vice President for Records, Registration, and Extended Studies

chuckw@umd.edu | 301.405.0338

Martin Wollesen

Martin Wollesen

Executive Director of the Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center

wollesen@umd.edu | 301.405.2993