University of Maryland    Strategic Planning 2007-08
 [Provost Home Page]

President Mote's Announcement

Dear University of Maryland Family:

The University of Maryland's Strategic Plan, completed in the spring of 2000, has served us well as a cogent statement of shared values and a robust guide for institutional development. (See Significant changes in the University and in its environment over time, along with insights derived from the recent institutional self-study and the associated review recommendations from the recent Middle States Association reaccreditation process (see, have made clear the need to revisit the Plan. I am writing now to describe the process we will use to produce a new Strategic Plan for the University of Maryland.

In coordination with the University Senate's Executive Committee, I have appointed a Strategic Planning Steering Committee (SPSC) to oversee the development of the Plan. With Provost Nariman Farvardin as Chair and Senate Chair William Montgomery as Vice-Chair, the SPSC includes all six University vice presidents, who ultimately will be tasked with implementation of the Plan, as well as important external stakeholders, deans, faculty, staff, and students from our community. The SPSC roster is appended below. It is essential to note that, beyond the SPSC, there will be continuous and robust participation of the entire community through defined task groups as well as through frequent requests and opportunities for individual input at all stages of the process. Further information concerning the process, the Steering Committee, the timetable, progress reports, and requests for input will be found on a web site now under construction at

We have set an ambitious schedule for this process. My intention is to have a completed and already well-vetted Plan submitted to the University Senate for final discussion and endorsement at its meeting on April 21, 2008. I ask for your collaboration in achieving this goal.

Your sincerely,

C. D. Mote, Jr.

Steering Committee

Nariman Farvardin ChairSenior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost
William Montgomery Vice-ChairChair University Senate, Professor, School of Music
Andrew BadenChair, Department of Physics
Jack BakerDirector, Operations and Maintenance, Facilities Management
Kathryn BartolProfessor, Robert H. Smith School of Business
Elizabeth BeiseProfessor, Department of Physics
Mel BernsteinVice President for Research
Ira ChinoyAssociate Professor, Philip Merrill College of Journalism
Linda ClementVice President for Student Affairs
Doug DuncanVice President for Administrative Affairs
Devin EllisGraduate Student
Robert GoldDean, School of Public Health
Irwin GoldsteinSenior Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, University System of Maryland
Jeffrey HuskampVice President and Chief Information Officer
Steven HutchesonProfessor, Department of Cell Biology and Molecular Genetics
Clifford KendallChair, University System of Maryland Board of Regents
Victor KorenmanProfessor Emeritus, Department of Physics
Elizabeth LoizeauxAssociate Dean, College of Arts and Humanities
William MayerChair, University of Maryland College Park Foundation Board of Trustees
Kim Montague-SmithExecutive Administrative Assistant, Department of Animal and Avian Sciences
Edward MontgomeryDean, College of Behavioral and Social Sciences
Melissa MoralesUndergraduate Student
Darryll PinesChair, Department of Aerospace Engineering
Marvin RabovskyImmediate Past President, University of Maryland Alumni Association Board of Governors
Brodie RemingtonVice President for University Relations
Jonathan WilkenfeldProfessor, Department of Government and Politics; Director, Center for International Development and Conflict Management
Ann WylieAssistant President and Chief of Staff; Professor, Department of Geology