UMD

2021-2022 Academic Calendar

Note: This calendar reflects only the holidays observed during academic semesters. Please see the University calendar website for the faculty/staff holiday schedule and other calendars, and the Schedule of Classes portion of Testudo for information on academic deadlines, examination schedules, etc.

Fall Semester 2021

First Day of Classes August 30 (Monday)
Labor Day September 6 (Monday)
Thanksgiving Recess November 24-28 (Wednesday-Sunday)
Last Day of Classes December 13 (Monday)
Reading Day December 14 (Tuesday)
Final Exams December 15-21 (Wednesday-Tuesday)
Commencement - Main Ceremony December 21 (Tuesday)
Commencement - College/Department Ceremonies December 22 (Wednesday)

Winter Term 2022

Classes Begin January 3 (Monday)
Dr. Martin Luther King Holiday January 17 (Monday)
Classes End January 21 (Friday)

Spring Semester 2022

First Day of Classes January 24 (Monday)
Spring Break March 20-27 (Sunday-Sunday)
Last Day of Classes May 10 (Tuesday)
Reading Day May 11 (Wednesday)
Final Exams May 12-18 (Thursday-Wednesday)
Commencement - College/Department Ceremonies May 19 (Thursday)
Commencement - Main Ceremony and College/Department Ceremonies May 20 (Friday)
Commencement - College/Department Ceremonies May 21 (Saturday)

Summer Term 2022

Sessions I and I-A Begin May 31 (Tuesday)
Session I-A Ends June 17 (Friday)
Session I-B Begins June 20 (Monday)
Independence Day Holiday July 4 (Monday)
Sessions I and I-B End July 8 (Friday)
Sessions II and II-C Begin July 11 (Monday)
Session II-C Ends July 29 (Friday)
Session II-D Begins August 1 (Monday)
Sessions II and II-D End August 19 (Friday)

All dates are potentially subject to change.

UMD Students

Back to Calendar Listing
Top