UMD

2019-2020 Academic Calendar

Note: This calendar reflects only the holidays observed during academic semesters. Please see the University calendar website for the faculty/staff holiday schedule and other calendars, and the Schedule of Classes portion of Testudo for information on academic deadlines, examination schedules, etc.

Fall Semester 2019

First Day of Classes August 26 (Monday)
Labor Day September 2 (Monday)
Thanksgiving Recess November 27-December 1 (Wednesday-Sunday)
Last Day of Classes December 9 (Monday)
Reading Day December 10 (Tuesday)
Final Exams December 11-17 (Wednesday-Tuesday)
Commencement - Main Ceremony December 17 (Tuesday)
Commencement - College/Department Ceremonies December 18 (Wednesday)

Winter Term 2020

Classes Begin January 2 (Thursday)
Dr. Martin Luther King Holiday January 20 (Monday)
Classes End January 22 (Wednesday)

Spring Semester 2020

First Day of Classes January 27 (Monday)
Spring Break March 15-22 (Sunday-Sunday)
Last Day of Classes May 12 (Tuesday)
Reading Day May 13 (Wednesday)
Final Exams May 14-20 (Thursday-Wednesday)
Commencement - College/Department Ceremonies May 21 (Thursday)
Commencement - Main Ceremony and College/Department Ceremonies May 22 (Friday)
Commencement - College/Department Ceremonies May 23 (Saturday)

Summer Term 2020

Sessions I and I-A Begin June 1 (Monday)
Session I-A Ends June 19 (Friday)
Session I-B Begins June 22 (Monday)
Independence Day Holiday July 3 (Friday)
Sessions I and I-B End July 10 (Friday)
Sessions II and II-C Begin July 13 (Monday)
Session II-C Ends July 31 (Friday)
Session II-D Begins August 3 (Monday)
Sessions II and II-D End August 21 (Friday)

All dates are potentially subject to change.

UMD Students

Back to Calendar Listing
Top